The Grantham Prize for Environmental Journalism

A winner from the Archives:

2008 Winner: Choking on Growth

2008 Winner: Choking on Growth

China's rapid economic expansion in recent years has been widely heralded as a boon for its people and its government. In this sweeping 10-part series, The New York Times fully exposed and explored the dark side of that unprecedented development: ravaging degradation of the environment.

Learn More

Grantham Prize Winners Tell Their Stories


2012 -- Our Dying Forests

Brandon Loomis, Rick Egan, David Noyce, The Salt Lake Tribune 

2011 -- Seeing the Wood

James Astill, The Economist


2010 -- Sea Sick: The Global Ocean in Crisis

Alanna Mitchell, Author and Journalist


Watch video from the 2010 Grantham Prize Seminar


2009 -- The Smokestack Effect: Toxic Air and America's Schools

Blake Morrison and Brad Heath, USA TODAY

Watch video from the 2009 Grantham Prize Seminar


2008 -- Choking on Growth

James Yardley, David Barboza, Keith Bradsher, Howard French, Joseph Kahn, Mark Landler, Chang W. Lee, Jimmy Lang, The New York Times

Watch video from the 2008 Grantham Prize Seminar